90 years of tradition leads newest United Way of El Paso County board

The newly elected board of directors for the United Way of El Paso County in 2013-2014 are continuing the very special work of nearly a century of civic and business leaders who have stepped up to strengthen our community and improve the lives of El Paso families.

The 2013-2014 officers elected at the annual meeting of the board April 16 at the El Paso Marriott include representatives from a diversity of  industries ranging from health and safety to energy, finance and education:

  • Board Chair – Janet Aguilar of Wells Fargo Insurance
  • Board Chair Elect – Steve Busser of El Paso Electric Company
  • Secretary – Shannon Osborne of the University of Texas at El Paso
  • Treasurer – Ruben Hernandez of JPMorgan Chase Bank
  • Vice Chair, Resource Development – Jacob Cintron of Del Sol Medical Center

  • Immediate Past Chair – Victor Nevarez of Western Refining Company

UW90th (2)

“United Way of El Paso County is honored to have these El Pasoans serve as officers on our board of directors,” said Deborah A. Zuloaga, United Way of El Paso County CEO.  “We welcome them at an exciting time, as we enter our 90th anniversary serving the El Paso community.”

The Board of Directors is responsible for the governance of the organization including its mission, policies, and strategic planning.

Eight new board members were elected during the meeting. They are:

  • Lawrence G. Duncan, El Paso Children’s Hospital
  • Enrique Gallegos, Sierra Medical Center
  • Eddie Garcia, Texas Gas Service
  • Oscar Garza, Ethicon, a Johnson & Johnson company
  • Forrest Lauher, Western Refining Company
  • Dr. William Serrata, El Paso Community College
  • Omar Villa, Emergence Health Network and current President of the United Way Young Leaders Society Advisory Board
  • Anita Werner, WestStar Bank

The following individuals were also re-elected to the board of directors during the meeting:

  • Christine Gallegos, Wells Fargo Bank
  • Norman Gordon, Mounce Green Myers Safi Paxon & Galatzan
  • Ruben Hernandez, JPMorgan Chase Bank
  • William Lilly, City of El Paso
  • Victor Nevarez, Western Refining Company
  • Shannon Osborne, University of Texas at El Paso
  • Dr. Michael Zolkoski, Ysleta Independent School District


“We are fortunate to have such a diverse group of individuals committed to the mission of United Way of El Paso County,” said Board Chair Janet Aguilar. “The combined support of the Board of Directors will continue to move our efforts in Education, Basic Needs, and Income forward.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s